Saint Catharine College Clock Tower photo

Alpha Chi

Pictured are the members of the 2013 Kentucky Mu chapter Alpha Chi induction class. They are, front row from left to right, Kaitlyn Smith, Matt Bloom, Kelsey Brooks, Olivia Thompson, Jacob Settles, Jillian Leake, Randi Fields and Tanalisa Hatton. Also pictured in the front row is Alpha Chi sponsor and St. Catharine College professor Nora Hatton. Back row, from left to right, are Alpha Chi sponsor and SCC professor Jim Silliman, St. Catharine College Vice President of Academic Affairs Don Giles and St. Catharine College President William D. Huston. Also inducted but not pictured is Paul Colvin, Haley Farmer, Samantha Seger and Ashley Wathen.


2013 Kentucky Mu chapter Alpha Chi inductees

Twelve new members of the Kentucky Mu chapter of Alpha Chi were recently inducted at St. Catharine College. They are Matthew Bloom, Paul Colvin, Randi Fields, Jillian Leake, Jacob Settles, Olivia Thompson, Kelsey Brooks, Haley Farmer, Tanalisa Hatton, Samantha Seger, Kaitlyn Smith and Ashley Wathen.

According to the Alpha Chi National College Honor Society website, the organization is a national college honor society that admits students from all academic disciplines. Membership is limited to the top 10 percent of an institution’s juniors, seniors and graduate students. There are approximately 300 chapters, located in almost every state and in Puerto Rico, which induct more than 12,000 members annually.

Founded in the Dominican tradition in 1931 and sponsored by the Dominican Sisters of Peace, St. Catharine College, a Catholic Dominican college inspired by its founders, welcomes all to the challenging pursuit of truth, preparing them to become critical thinkers, ethical leaders and engaged citizens.